Lunch at the National Gallery

January 26, 2010

I had been strolling around the National Gallery, getting quite hungry. As I walked past the cafe, I decided to peek at the menu even though my wallet was in my bag checked-in at the coat check. Upon seeing that they had a veggieburger on the menu, I made my way to the coat check, got my wallet and went straight back to order the burger. Prices at the National Gallery were a big surprise, for nine dollars I had my burger, a plate full of salads and a coke. The salads are priced by weight and has a big vegetarian variety. Views from the restaurant are gorgeous and the huge windows make it a great space. I would go back here for the restaurant alone and the art itself was pretty good too. (not enough impressionism though).

The veggie burger was decent. There was no list of toppings and there was a line so I just listed a few things that I assumed they would have. Little sachets of ketchup and mustard were at the cutlery table. And yet…. there was a charcoal taste to this burger which made it very tasty and fresh. The salad made an excellent side and the coke, the first in over a week and after a week full of trials and tribulations, surviving in a new city. This meal was exactly what I needed.

3 Responses to “Lunch at the National Gallery”

  1. Melissa A. Says:

    Great food pics! They could be in a cookbook! Have you walked up to Napean Point yet? It’s by the NGC. Great views.

  2. K Says:

    Looks delicious 😀

  3. Paige Says:

    I had some fantastic salmon at that cafe when I was there. Gorgeous snowy view, too.


Leave a Reply

